SÈMÈ CITY, INNOVATION MADE IN AFRICA

BUILDING TOMORROW’S SUCCESS TODAY

Launched as part of “Revealing Benin,” the government of Benin’s investment and development programme, Sèmè City is the only project of its kind in Africa.

This city of innovation and knowledge brings together high-level training institutions, research and development centres, and incubators of innovative solutions to help solve the challenges facing Benin and Africa.

With Sèmè City, Benin wishes to train a new generation of talents and foster the emergence of a new model of inclusive and sustainable growth based on “Innovation Made in Africa”. The stake is clear: we must face the economic challenges of Benin and more generally of Africa in order to provide the continent’s youth with opportunities for the future.

Around 200,000 students will graduate from the schools and universities of Sèmè City by 2030, and more than 190,000 direct and indirect jobs will be created, one third of which will be self-employments.

All the activities of Sèmè City will be organised around 5 interdisciplinary areas:

  1. Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
  2. Art, Design, and Humanities and Social Sciences
  3. Agriculture, Nutrition, and Natural Resources
  4. Health and Life Sciences
  5. Management, Administration, and Business

Planned as a smart city, integrated and connected across a 350 hectare area, Sèmè City is being built in successive phases, with a focus on quality of life for all its residents via the implementation of sustainable and innovative solutions.

The Agency for the Development of Sèmè City launched, in partnership with the World Bank, a competition for entrepreneurs known as the ‘Challenge Fund’. This enabled us to identify innovative tourism-focused projects with a potentially rich socioeconomic impact. The winners will be announced at the world’s first FORIMA (Forum “Innovation Made in Africa”), taking place in Cotonou on 31 May – 01 June 2018. The retained projects will receive up to $500,000 in funding and a place in Sèmè City’s incubation programme.

SÈMÈ CITY, L’INNOVATION MADE IN AFRICA

CONSTRUIRE AUJOURD’HUI LES SUCCÈS DE DEMAIN

Lancée dans le cadre du « Bénin Révélé », programme d’investissement et de développement sans précédent, Sèmè City est un projet unique en Afrique.

Cette cité dédiée à l’innovation et au savoir rassemble des institutions de formation de haut-niveau, des centres de recherche et de développement ainsi que des incubateurs de solutions innovantes pour répondre aux défis du Bénin et de l’Afrique

À travers Sèmè City, le Bénin souhaite former une nouvelle génération de talents et favoriser l’éclosion de nouveaux modèles de croissance inclusive et durable fondés sur l’« Innovation Made in Africa ».  L’enjeu est clair : répondre aux défis économiques du Bénin et plus globalement de l’Afrique, pour offrir des opportunités d’avenir à la jeunesse du continent.

Environ 200 000 étudiants sortiront diplômés des écoles et universités de Sèmè City d’ici 2030, et plus de 190 000 emplois directs et indirects seront créés, dont 1/3 d’auto-emplois.

Les activités de Sèmè City sont organisées autour de 5 grappes interdisciplinaires :

  1. Science, Technologie, Ingénierie et Mathématiques
  2. Arts, Design et Sciences Humaines et Sociales
  3. Agriculture, Nutrition et Ressources Naturelles
  4. Santé et Sciences de la Vie
  5. Management, Administration et Entrepreneuriat

Planifiée comme une ville intelligente, intégrée et connectée sur une superficie de plus de 350 ha, Sèmè City se construit par phases successives en misant sur la qualité de vie pour tous les acteurs de la cité à travers des solutions durables, économes et innovantes.

L’Agence de Développement de Sèmè City a lancé en partenariat avec la Banque Mondiale un concours pour les entrepreneurs intitulé « Challenge Fund » afin de sélectionner des projets touristiques innovants et à fort impact socio-économique. Les lauréats ont été annoncés lors de la première édition du FORIMA (Forum de l’Innovation Made In Africa) le 31 Mai – 01 Juin 2018 à Cotonou. Les projets sélectionnés ont  reçu respectivement 150,000$ et une place dans le programme d’incubation de Sèmè City.


Vous souhaitez contribuez au projet Sèmè City ?

Découvrez nos appels d’offres, appels à contribution et offres d’emploi en cliquant sur les liens ci-dessous :

Accéder aux offres d’emploi 
Devenez rédacteur pour Sèmè City